NJPW 52nd Anniversary Event Results – March 6, 2024 – Tetsuya Naito vs. SHO

March 6, 2024
Tokyo, Japan – Ota City General Gymnasium
English Commentary: Walker Stewart, Chris Charlton, and Gino Gambino

Quick Match Results

  1. United Empire (Great-O-Khan & Jeff Cobb) defeated Tomoaki Honma & Tanga Loa via Tour of the Island (pinfall 3:47)
    • Cobb pinned Honma after hitting the Tour of the Island for the victory.
    • Following the match, Great-O-Khan and Loa engaged in a brawl that resulted in Khan standing tall in the end ahead of their upcoming New Japan Cup tournament match.
  2. TMDK (Mikey Nicholls & Zack Sabre Jr.) defeated Guerrillas of Destiny (Hikuleo & El Phantasmo) via Mikey Bomb (pinfall 8:24)
    • Nicholls pinned El Phantasmo after hitting a Mikey Bomb for the victory.
  3. Boltin Oleg, El Desperado, Tomohiuro Ishii, & Hirooki Goto defeated BUSHI, Hiromu Takahashi, Yota Tsuji, & Shingo Takagi via El Es Culero (pinfall 7:43)
    • El Desperado pinned Bushi after hitting the El Es Culero for the flash pin victory.
    • Following the match, El Desperado and Ishii confronted each other in the ring and exchanged some heated words before defusing the situtaion and shook hands in respect of each other.
    • After Oleg, Desperado, and Goto left the ring first, Ishii tried to follow them but was attacked from behind by Chase Owens who wanted to soften up Ishii ahead of their upcoming New Japan Cup tournament match.
  4. United Empire (Callum Newman, Francesco Akira, & TJP) defeated Bullet Club War Dogs (Gedo, Gabe Kidd, & David Finlay) via 2×2 (pinfall 7:55)
    • TJP pinned Gedo after hitting the 2×2 with Akira.
  5. Just Five Guys (DOUKI, Yuya Uemura, Taichi, & SANADA) defeated House of Torture (Dick Togo, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Ren Narita, & EVIL) via Deadbolt Suplex (pinfall 8:53)
    • Uemura pinned Togo after hitting the Deadbolt Suplex for the pinfall victory.
  6. New Japan Cup 2024 Tournament First Round match – Toru Yano defeated Yujiro Takahashi via Countout (2:56)
    • Prior to the start of the match, Pieter made her return appearance to NJPW and accompanied Takahashi to the ring.
    • Near the end of the match, Yano and Takahashi were both outside and Yano grabbed NJPW ring announcer and time keeper Makoto Abe. Yano shoved Abe into Takahashi and handcuffed both of them together using the same handcuffs Takahashi had cuffed him to the guard railing earlier. Yano then hit a low blow to Abe and Takahashi leading to both being laid out and Yano getting back into the ring in time for the countout victory.
  7. New Japan Cup 2024 Tournament First Round match – YOSHI-HASHI defeated KENTA via Itadakikari (pinfall 10:55)
    • After the match, YOSHI-HASHI offered his hand to KENTA for a handshake, which KENTA responded back shaking YOSHI-HASHI’s hand. This turned out to just be a ruse by KENTA who faked going out of the ring and waited until YOSHI-HASHI turned his back to launch an ambush attack on him.
  8. New Japan Cup 2024 Tournament First Round match – Jack Perry defeated Shota Umino via Running Knee Strike (pinfall 12:20)
    • Near the end of the match, House of Torture’s Yoshinobu Kanemaru ran out and distracted the referee leading to Ren Narita coming out and attacked Umino from behind. This led to Perry hitting a running knee strike to Umino for the pinfall victory to advance to the next round of this year’s tournament.
    • Following the match, the rest of House of Torture came out to the ring and EVIL offered a HoT shirt to Perry. Perry grabbed the shirt and put it on accepting membership into the group.
  9. Champion vs. Champion Anniversary match – Tetsuya Naito defeated SHO via Destino (pinfall 22:07)
    • Near the end of the match, SHO shoved Naito twice into the referee leading to House of Torture coming out to attack Naito. This led to Los Ingobernables De Japon running out to save Naito and helped clear the ring of EVIL and his group.