NJPW Announces Participants for G1 Climax 2020 Tournament

During Wednesday’s New Japan Road event in Miyagi, Japan, New Japan Pro Wrestling announced the full field of competitors for this year’s G1 Climax tournament.

This year’s tournament will take place from September 19th to October 18th in Japan with the winner to receive a title shot for the IWGP Heavyweight & Intercontinental Championship at next year’s Wrestle Kingdom event.

While there had been some doubts over the possibility of the company’s foreign-based talent competing in this year’s tournament due to coronavirus-related travel issues, six foreign based talent were announced to be among the field of twenty competitors.

A Block:

  • Kota Ibushi
  • Jeff Cobb
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Will Ospreay
  • Shingo Takagi
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • Taichi
  • Jay White
  • Yujiro Takahashi

B Block:

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Juice Robinson
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Toru Yano
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • EVIL