NJPW Wrestling Dontaku 2024 Results – May 4, 2024 – Jon Moxley vs. Ren Narita

May 4, 2024
Fukuoka, Japan – Fukuoka Convention Center
English Commentary: Chris Charlton and Jeff Cobb

Quick Match Results

  1. Pre-show: Frontier Zone match – Katsuya Murashima & Togi Makabe defeated JET WEI & NAOKI SAKURAJIMA via King Kong Knee Drop (pinfall 7:08)
    • Makabe pinned WEI after hitting a King King Knee Drop to give his team the victory.
  2. Pre-show: TMDK (Shane Haste & Mikey Nicholls) defeated Shoma Kato & Tiger Mask via Power Bottom (pinfall 8:08)
    • Nicholls pinned Kato after hitting a Power Bottom to secure the victory for TMDK.
  3. United Empire (Francesco Akira & Great-O-Khan) defeated Just Five Guys (DOUKI & Yuya Uemura) via Jorge Riveria Special (pinfall 7:54)
    • Akira pinned DOUKI after rolling him up in a Romero Special to give United Empire the victory.
  4. TMDK (Kosei Fujita & Zack Sabre Jr.) defeated United Empire (Callum Newman & Jeff Cobb) via Zack Driver (pinfall 9:27)
    • Sabre Jr. pinned Newman after hitting a Zack Driver to give the victory to TMDK.
  5. El Desperado, Shota Umino, El Phantasmo, & Hikuleo defeated House of Torture (Yoshinobu Kanemaru, SHO, Yujiro Takahashi, & EVIL) via Death Rider (pinfall 7:26)
    • Umino pinned Takahashi after hitting the Death Rider to give his team the victory.
  6. Boltin Oleg & Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Just Five Guys (TAKA Michinoku & Taichi) via High Fly Flow (pinfall 8:57)
    • Tanahashi pinned Michinoku after hitting a High Fly Flow to give his team the victory.
    • Following the match, Oleg and Taichi engaged in a brief scuffle at ringside that was quickly broken up the referee. After the two were separate, Taichi went back into the ring and confronted Tanahashi leading to the two exchanging words before both walked away from each other.
  7. Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI, Hiromu Takahashi, Yota Tsuji, & Tetsuya Naito) defeated Bullet Club War Dogs (Gedo, Drilla Moloney, Clark Conners, & David Finlay) via Destino (pinfall 9:56)
    • Naito pinned Moloney after hitting a Destino to give the victory for LIJ.
  8. IWGP Tag Team Championship – Bullet Club (Chase Owens & KENTA) defeated Bishamon (YOSHI-HASHI & Hirooki Goto) (c) via Jackknife Pin (pinfall 12:44)
    • Near the end of the match KENTA distracted the referee leading to Owens hitting a low blow to Goto and KENTA followed it with a running knee strike to Goto. This led to Owens catching Goto in a Jackknife pinfall to win the IWGP Tag Team titles for his team.
    • Following the match, YOSHI-HASHI confronted Owens and KENTA over them cheating to win the IWGP Tag titles. TMDK and El Phantasmo & Hikuleo both came out afterwards to the ring resulting in a lot of bickering and a scuffle between TMDK, Bishamon, and Guerillas of Destiny over who gets to challenge for the belts next.
  9. NEVER Openweight Championship – Shingo Takagi (c) defeated Gabe Kidd via Last of the Dragon (pinfall 21:23)
  10. IWGP Global Heayweight Championship – David Finlay defeated Nic Nemeth (c) via Overkill (pinfall 14:34)
  11. IWGP World Heavyweight Championship – Jon Moxley (c) defeated Ren Narita via Death Rider (pinfall 25:18)
    • Prior to the start of the match, House of Torture attacked Moxley as he was making his entrance and handcuffed and laid out Shota Umino after he tried to save Moxley.
    • Throughout the match, House of Torture did their typical interference and attacks shenanigans routine leading to Umino eventually managing to free himself of the handcuffs and clearing the ring of HoT. Umino tossed Narita to Moxley, who hit a pair of Death Riders to Narita for the pinfall victory to retain his IWGP World title.