NJPW Reveals Participants for Best of the Super Juniors 2019 Tournament

New Japan Pro Wrestling recently announced the entire list of participants for this year’s Best of the Super Juniors tournament, which takes place from May 13th to June 5th. The winner of this year’s tournament will receive an automatic title shot for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship at Dominion 2019 on June 9th.

It was also announced that every show for this year’s tournament will air live on New Japan World and feature English commentary as an option. Unlike previous years, the field for this year’s tournament was announced to be expanded from sixteen to twenty competitors and features talent from both CMLL and ROH.

A mystery competitor named “X” was announced to be among the tournament’s field and will be officially revealed at NJPW’s Wrestling Dontaku 2019 event on May 4th. It is currently rumored that this mystery person will likely be El Phantasmo, who is expected to make his official debut for the company soon.

Full list of competitors:

  • Ryusuke Taguchi
  • Tiger Mask IV
  • Rocky Romero
  • SHO
  • YOH
  • Will Ospreay
  • Taiji Ishimori
  • El Desperado
  • Taka Michinoku
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Flip Gordon
  • Titan
  • Marty Scurll
  • Dragon Lee
  • Robbie Eagles
  • Jonathan Gresham
  • Bandido
  • Shingo Takagi
  • “X”