WWE Releases 13 NXT Wrestlers: Bronson Reed, Bobby Fish, Jake Atlas, Mercedes Martinez & More

WWE released 13 NXT wrestlers tonight:

  • Ari Sterling – Formerly known as Alex Zayne, high-flying indie darling who signed with WWE in November 2020. He mostly wrestled on 205 Live.
  • Asher Hale – Formerly Anthony Henry, he signed with WWE in early 2021. Before WWE, he mostly wrestled in EVOLVE.
  • Bobby Fish – Signed with WWE in 2017.
  • Bronson Reed – Signed with WWE in 2019. He had been working dark matches in recent weeks before Raw and SmackDown and there was talk that he could be called up to the main roster. Previously wrestled in the indies as Jonah Rock.
  • Desmond Troy – Former college amateur wrestler who signed with WWE in 2018. He hasn’t been on NXT TV much.
  • Giant Zanjeer – 7’2 Great Khali trainee whose only WWE was at the Superstar Spectacle India special in January.
  • Jake Atlas – Former indie superstar who signed in October 2019 and was previously a fan favorite at PWG shows.
  • Kona Reeves – Signed with WWE in 2014, but has not seen much TV time.
  • Leon Ruff – Signed in October 2020 and received a small push, winning the NXT North American Championship at the end of last year. Formerly from EVOLVE.
  • Mercedes Martinez – Signed in January 2020. Was a member of RETRIBUTION for one week before returning to NXT.
  • Referee Stephon Smith – Signed as a referee in early 2020.
  • Tyler Rust – Signed in December 2020. Just recently announced as a member of the Diamond Mine stable.
  • Zechariah Smith – 7’0 former basketball player. Never wrestled on WWE TV.

The news was first reported by Fightful and PWInsider.

The wrestlers were informed of their releases tonight by WWE head of talent relations John Laurinaitis.

Some of the wrestlers commented on Twitter: