WWE: More on Queen’s Crown Tournament, New Book Releasing Next Month, Updated SD Ratings

More on WWE’s Queen’s Crown Tournament

WWE is currently holding their inaugural eight-women Queen’s Crown tournament with the Finals to be taking place at their Crown Jewel 2021 on October 21st in Saudi Arabia. This past Friday’s episode of SmackDown featured the first two First Round matches while this past Monday’s episode of RAW featured the remaining two First Round matches.

The online reception for WWE’s Queen’s Crown tournament has been mostly negative with the bulk of the complaints focusing on the very short time given for all of the First Round matches.

The Wrestling Observer and Fightful contributor Denise Salcedo reported on Twitter that the combined time for all of the four First Round matches was around eight minutes and seven seconds. The longest match was the Natayla vs. Doudrop match, which went two minutes and fifty-nine seconds.

New Book Based on WWE Championship Releasing Next Month

A new wrestling book based on the WWE Championship will officially go on sale starting on November 2nd, according to PWInsider.

Mike Johnson reported that this book is titled WWE Championship: The Greatest Prize in Sports Entertainment Hardcover and is written by author Jeremy Brown.

Official press release:

“This deluxe oversized hardback book explores the history of the WWE Championship from Buddy Rogers in 1963 to the current WWE Championship held by Drew McIntyre.  In its near 60-year history, the main WWE Championship has been held by over 50 Superstars and had its name/design changed 13 times. This book will explore the changing face of the WWE Championship via the Superstars that have held the title as well as the greatest matches for the championship.  Richly illustrated with official WWE photography, this book covers the WWE Championship by exploring each era of WWE in chronological order.

The book explores each era of WWE:

•  Early Years- 1967-’80s
•  The Golden Age- ’80s to early ’90s
•  New Generation- Early ’90s to mid ’90s
•  Attitude Era- Mid ’90s to early 2000s
•  PG Era- 2008-2013
•  Reality Era- 2014-2016
•  The New Era- 2016-present

Featuring historic photography and stories about the icons to have held the title including legends such as Hulk Hogan, Bret Hart, Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Rock, Triple H, Ric Flair, Bruno Sammartino, Brock Lesnar, John Cena and many more. In addition, the history of the Championship is brought to life with the greatest title matches revisited – such as WrestleMania VI’s Ultimate Challenge, Shawn and Bret’s Iron Man Match, The Chair Shot Heard Around the World, and Triple H and Cactus Jack’s Street Fight at Royal Rumble 2000.  A perfect gift, The WWE Championship: The Greatest Prize in Sport’s Entertainment will be cherished by every member of the WWE Universe, new or old.”

Updated WWE Friday Night SmackDown Ratings

This past Friday’s episode of WWE Friday Night SmackDown drew a final viewership of 2,147,000 on FOX, according to ShowBuzz Daily. This was up compared to the initial overnight number of 2,034,000 viewers on the network.