WWE Releases Six Wrestlers: Braun Strowman, Aleister Black, Murphy, Lana, Ruby Riott & Santana Garrett

WWE announced today that they have released the following six wrestlers:

  • Braun Strowman
  • Aleister Black
  • Murphy
  • Lana
  • Ruby Riott
  • Santana Garrett

Braun Strowman

Strowman, the most shocking of the releases, was signed by WWE in 2013 and made his main roster debut in 2015 as part of the Wyatt Family.

Aleister Black

Black had just returned to WWE last week after several weeks of promos, attacking Big E on SmackDown.


Murphy, who signed with WWE in 2013, has been used very sparingly on WWE TV after his angle with the Mysterios was abruptly dropped. Recently, he’s posted tweets indicating his unhappiness with not being used.


Lana first signed with WWE in 2013. Her husband Miro was released by WWE in April 2020 and is currently the AEW TNT Champion.

Ruby Riott

Riott signed with WWE in 2016.

Santana Garrett

Garrett has wrestled in WWE as an “enhancement talent” since 2013, but officially signed in 2019.

According to PWInsider, there was a plan for her to be called up to SmackDown, but as she was waiting for WWE to come up with a storyline for her, she was instead released.